The Shakespearian-class trawler was a class of anti-submarine naval trawlers that served the Royal Navy.
Three of the 5 Shakespearian-class trawlers were war losses: Coriolanus, Horatio, and Laertes. Othello and Rosalind being the other two.

Built: 1940–1941
In commission: 1940–1947
Type: Naval trawler
Displacement: 545 long tons (554 t)
Length: 164 ft (50 m)
Propulsion: Reciprocating engine, 1 shaft
Speed: 12 knots (22 km/h; 14 mph)

The Dive

Coriolanus sank on May 5, 1945, after hitting a mine. It lies at 28m in the sandy ground (first parts of the wreck are at 17m), and is one of the dives in Croatia not to be missed.

Suitable for: Advanced divers (Rescue Diver, CMAS**, NAUI Advanced Scuba Diver and their diving associations equivalents).

  • Listing categories Dive Sites, Wrecks
  • Location Novigrad

  • Igor Bujas

    Rating: 5 / 5



Did You Dive Here? Write A Review!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *